New Approaches
to Evaluating

Volume 2
Theory, Measurement, and Analysis


The activities of the Roundtable on Comprehensive Community Initiatives for Children and Families have been funded by eleven foundations: the Annie E. Casey Foundation, the Ford Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Pew Charitable Trusts, the Foundation for Child Development, the Rockefeller Foundation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, the W. K. Kellogg Foundation, the Edna McConnell Clark Foundation, and the Spencer Foundation. The work of the Steering Committee on Evaluation is part of the ongoing efforts of the Roundtable and is therefore funded, in part, through the sources listed above. It has also received specific grant funds from the following sources: the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Pew Charitable Trusts, the Ford Foundation, and the Annie E. Casey Foundation. The members of the Roundtable and the Steering Committee on Evaluation thank these funders for their support of this work.

The editors thank, first and foremost, the authors who contributed their work to this volume. We are grateful as well to Huey-Tsyh Chen, John Gaventa, Lynn Kagan, Michael Patton, Dennis Rose, Peter Rossi, Gertrude Spilka, Charles L. Usher, Mary Wagner, and Robert Yin, who participated in the telephone interviews that helped shape this volume. We also benefited from the thoughts and insights of Brett Brown, Robert Chaskin, Hector Cordero-Guzman, Claudia Coulton, Michelle Gambone, Bennett Harrison, Reginald Jones, Jack Kraskopf, Margaret Spencer, Abraham Wandersman, and Carol Weiss, who attended the meeting in late 1996 at which many of the issues covered here were discussed.

In addition, several people made production of this book possible, and we are grateful to them all: Rick Landesberg, Caroline Mengon, Sylvia Pear, and Rebecca Weaver. Anne Mackinnon, as always, did much more than editing to keep this publication on track. The Roundtable staff who were critical to this process all along are Crystal Hayes, Andrea Anderson, Debra Chinnery Smith, and Michelle Roberts. And, finally, none of this would have been possible without the wisdom and guidance of the members of the Steering Committee on Evaluation and the leadership of the co-chairs of the Roundtable, Harold Richman and Lisbeth Schorr.

The authors and editors are solely responsible for the accuracy of the statements and interpretations contained in this publication. Such interpretations do not necessarily reflect the views of the contributing foundations or of the federal government.

Back to New Approaches to Evaluating Community Initiatives index.

Copyright © 1999 by The Aspen Institute
Comments, questions or suggestions? E-mail
This page designed, hosted, and maintained by Change Communications.